CONFESSIONS OF A BOOKWORM “Open a book”

7 Nov

I have been a bookworm since I was 13 years old; I remember exactly the moment that my addiction began. On my 13th Birthday my father gave to me “Harry Potter and The Prisoner of Azkaban”.  That night, I began reading it and I felt myself electrified with HP world. That was the moment, that exact moment when I realized that there were books for children worth reading.

I began the series of Harry Potter for the third book. Weird. I know. I finished the first 3 books on summer vacation, since then, the anguish of waiting months and months for the next book to be released marked my existence.

Between HP books I began reading any book that cross my way, and I mean ANYTHING. From fantasy themed books like “The Lord of The Rings” by Tolkien to murder mysteries quite inappropriate for my age like “The Red Dragon” by Thomas Harris.

Not that I was completely oblivious to books before Harry Potter. When I was around 5 years old, my parents had an edition of “The Silence of the Lambs” by Thomas Harris in which the title page was the image of a young woman’s face with a bee in her mouth, but the bee had a skull as a head; I thought ” What can be inside this book for the main image to be this one; a bee with a skull head?” As you can imagine my child imagination went wild imagining assassin bees and young women being bitten by them. Since then every once in a while I entered my parents’ bedroom and I checked the titles pages of the books that they were reading, memorizing titles, authors and the images that accompany them.

As you can imagine, my book addiction has increased dramatically, from addiction to young-adult series to classic thick-unreadable books, my thirst is growing in a pace that somethimes i feel alarmed because i just want to read, read, read. Not eat, read. Not sleep, read. No breath, just read.

Any bookworm anywhere???

Love,

Lady C.

Leave a Reply

bluestockings magazine

bluestockings is an intersectional, anti-oppressive publication that commits to centering voices of people from marginalized and historically resilient communities, across multiple axes of oppressed identity.

Christ! Xmas

all about Christmas and Santa.

Trend.Shook.co

Shook. Community powered.

Austenticity

Private Ponderings of External Nature

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

emillsenglishcomunity

comunidad de gente que habla en inglés

Invisible Short Film Blog

Página oficial del corto "Invisible"; escrito y dirigido por Ingrid Solbrig

Jane Austen's World

This Jane Austen blog brings Jane Austen, her novels, and the Regency Period alive through food, dress, social customs, and other 19th C. historical details related to this topic.

Tea with Sir Munchies and The Blazer Ladies

The dashing "geekynes" of our everyday life

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

